top of page
Search
  • erichards1994

Anime, Light Novel, or Manga? Which Do You Prefer?



These are typical queries that come about at some point in any dialogue about an anime series. It's almost exactly like whenever a film comes out based off a novel, a customary question is,"Can you read the book?"


To be honest, this sort of disturbs me. Why? Well, there are a lot of light novel / manga readers out there which do not care if someone has done exactly the same, but in the exact same time you will find numerous that nearly take crime. Such people usually respond any question or comment you make about a series with,"Well if your read the manga..."

It is rather annoying. Personally, I think that there is one large difference between a movie adaptation of a book, along with an anime version of a light novel or manga. What is that? Volume. Movies take a long while to make. Anime do too, but they come air new shows four times a year (anime seasons). So, how do you compare a movie, that is published once after a very long time, to anime that is published four times a year?


That's just food for thought. The real question, that this guide is about, is exactly what if you choose? In case you begin picking up light novels? You know what, you should probably just watch the anime.

Let's go over some pros and cons of each of these.


Anime

Anime is my go to whenever I hear of an interesting story. Why? It is simple. You can literally sit at your desk, lie in bed, and observe the beauty of cartoon and listen to this dialogue. You are able to see a story unfold before your own eyes, without having to navigate through the words of a light novel or piecing together images of a manga.

The downside, generally, is lack of depth. There's simply so much an anime can fit into the season, in addition to just so much they could show via the senses. You can easily overlook some background stuff that got cut, or not completely understand a situation simply because you're unaware what condition the character is in.

That said it's still my personal go to.


If I enjoy the anime, then I usually go looking to the light novel. Of course, I have to await a translation. A light novel is quite an investment, as any book is, so I look at it as me enjoying the story enough to back it. I don't read diagrams on the web, I always purchase the book. One, because I love having the physical backup, and two, to encourage the author.

The light novel, as with generally any publication, usually goes into quite a good deal more detail than the anime version. You get a more in-depth look at scenes. You may see what's happening in the background. The author can tell you what a character is feeling instead of you trying to decipher it yourself. You also have to exercise your imagination, producing the different scenes on mind. Of course, illustrations assist you with this as well.


What's the downside of any publication? It is time consuming! This is precisely why this is always my second option, to the anime. I want to know that I like the story before I go into more detail. Another drawback could be the writing style. I could love a story to death, but if the author's style is too strange for me personally, I know I won't like it.


Manga

Then we've got manga. I'll be honest, I seldom buy manga, therefore my thoughts are likely a bit prejudice. However, manga are generally faster to read than a light novel, since you are managing pictures. Rather than attempting to create moments in your mind which may not accurately portray the story the way the writer intended, a manga sets the spectacle in front of you. You can literally watch it progress.


The downside to some manga, at least for me, is that you have to go right . I understand that's a ridiculous accusation, but it drives me nuts. The images may be welcome, but, like myself, I love creating scenes in my mind with my own creativity, so a manga limits that to some degree.


Overall

So what's the best? Depends on your preference, of course. Light novel and manga readers are almost always likely to look down upon people that don't invest the time they do to particular stories. That's just the way it is.

My thoughts are, if you discover a story interesting, go for the anime. Or, if you are somebody who enjoys a good story, catch the light novel. From that point, you can go to one or another, or go for the manga. Typically I see manga as something that's visually appealing once I understand the characters.

My thoughts on this entire anime vs light novel vs manga situation. Of course, everyone is going to have a different opinion, and you are advised to disagree.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page